The Upside of Unrequited – Becky Albertalli

“I guess it’s just this feeling that my body is secretly all wrong. Which means any guy who assumes I’m normal is going to flip his shit if we get to the point of nakedness. Whoa. Nope. Not what I signed up for.” 

Molly has had a total of 26 unrequited crushes. She has never acted on any due to her fear of rejection – mainly due to her weight. When her twin sister Cassie falls head first into a relationship with Mina, a girl they met at the bar, Molly has to adjust to the loneliness that comes with her sisters new relationship. To try to fill the Cassie sized hole left in Molly, Cassie attempts to set her up with Mina’s friend Will but Molly has her eyes set on someone a little more nerdier. But will she able to get past her insecurities?

Last year for #kristenandkelseysfiftybookchallenge I read Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda & absolutely loved it. So when I saw that Becky Albertalli had written something new, I knew I had to get my hands on it. So when Chapter’s had their spend $40 get a $10 card I knew it was time to pick this bad boy up.

I hate to say that this book didn’t live up to the hype.

I dove in fairly quickly & was almost sure that Molly was going to be a character that I related with. I’m the queen of unrequited love & her Molly’s pain resonated close to my heart. But her struggle just didn’t feel real to me. I understand that Molly struggled with anxiety but if she would have spoken up at least ONCE, I think that she might have been able to remedy some of her issues. I also wish that Molly would have realized that she doesn’t need a boy in order to feel self-love. I did however love the amount of diversity throughout this story. I didn’t feel like the characters were all from the same mold.

Although there were aspects of this book that I liked, overall this book just didn’t do it for me. But if you are looking for your next YA read definitely pick up Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, you will not be disappointed. But if you feel like picking this one up & you have already read Simon see if you can catch the little Easter egg that links these two books together!

Book 22/40

3/5 Stars

Finished August 3rd/2017

Kristen & Kelsey’s 40 Book Challenge 

Check out my beautiful friend Kristen’s Blog and her Instagram to see how she is doing!

#kristenandkelseysfortybookchallenge

Image result

Leave a Reply

