City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) – Cassandra Clare

“Is this the part where you start tearing off strips of your shirt to bind my wounds?”
“If you wanted me to rip my clothes off, you should have just asked.”

When Clary Fray & her friend Simon first step into the Pandemonium night club, Clary is thrown head first into the Shadowhunter world. A Shadowhunter is a demon killer & it is a world that her mother Jocelyn & Jocelyn’s friend Luke have kept hidden from her for many years. It’s there that she meets Jace & the rest of his Shadowhunter brothers & sisters & when Clary’s mother is suddenly attacked & taken away they bring Clary & Simon to the Institute. The Institute is the Shadowhunter’s headquarters & the place where Clary begins to discover who she really is.

Let me start off by saying that I am so glad to be back in this world. I have been a part of this world since junior high & now, a year out of college, I can’t believe that I finally get to come back. I never got around to finishing all of the books in this series (I got to book 4) so I decided it was time to start from the beginning & polish them off.

When I dove into this book I immediately fell in love with the characters all over again. Jace is your typical sassy “bad boy” & Simon is the nerdy “boy next door” & Clary is the girl who finds herself in a beautiful love triangle. Jace has so many great one liners in this book that will either make you laugh or swoon. I’ve read this book at least 3 times in my lifetime & I’ve always found the story line very easy to follow. The only small issue I have is that some of the chapters can be a little long but I understand that they do that in order to group the plot points correctly. I’m not much for series books but so far I am loving these books & am looking forward to starting City of Ashes.

Book 21/40

5/5 Stars

Finished August 1st/2017

Kristen & Kelsey’s 40 Book Challenge 

Check out my beautiful friend Kristen’s Blog and her Instagram to see how she is doing!

#kristenandkelseysfortybookchallenge

Image result

Leave a Reply

