Glass (Crank #2) – Ellen Hopkins

*If you have yet to read my review of Crank I will link it down below for your reading pleasure.*

“Six months since we met up
again we are inseparable,
an intricate weave.
No longer do I believe
this is a temporary fling.
More like total commitment.
More like I have walked
down the aisle, holding
hands with the monster.”

In the sequel to Crank we meet up once again with Kristina. After giving birth to her son Hunter, she thought that she would leave the monster behind. But unfortunately the monsters grip is tight & before she realizes it she’s spiraling into her old habits. Needing the monster in order to get through her daily life, she pushes away the people closest to her & continues her descent back into the loving grasp of the monster.

I’m not a huge fan of books in a series but after I finished Crank I knew that I had to get Glass as soon as possible. So after yet another book adventure with Kristen (yes, we do have those quite frequently), Glass finally made it into my hands where it belongs. After I finished I Was Here by Gayle Forman I dove right in.

My biggest issue when it comes to series is usually the time gap in between books. The character is so much older & you just feel like you’ve missed a massive chunk of their life. But with Glass I definitely didn’t feel that way. I found that both books flowed seamlessly together which was absolutely perfect. I did however, not enjoy Kristina as a character as much in this book. I had trouble feeling bad for her because she brought absolutely everything on herself. Hunter was basically forgotten throughout the entire book & her family didn’t seem as concerned about her. I just didn’t feel that her story was as authentic as it was in Crank. I did however give it 5 stars because aside from all of that I did truly enjoy it.

I’m really glad that I decided to jump on the Ellen Hopkins bandwagon after years of contemplation. She writes with such passion & has such a unique writing style. After I finish Fallout, the third & final installment of the Crank series I’ll be quickly diving into the Burned series!

Book 17/40

5/5 Stars

Finished June 16th/2017

Kristen & Kelsey’s 40 Book Challenge 

Check out my beautiful friend Kristen’s Blog and her Instagram to see how she is doing!

Crank

#kristenandkelseysfortybookchallenge

Leave a Reply

